fit 2 fat 2 fit 2… face palm. (part 2)

Posted on November 27, 2011. Filed under: Misc | Tags: , , , , |

In my previous post, I discussed what in my opinion is a publicity stunt by a trainer.

 

And I stand by that opinion.  However I am not omniscient, and can’t possibly know what is in this trainer’s heart.

 

Not to mention in the fitness industry, especially the commercial fitness industry, it is quite easy to get caught up in a certain mindset if you are not careful.  It’s actually what separates the coaches from the trainers.  The perfect quote on the subject I have heard is plain and simple:

Training is what you do to someone, coaching is what you do with someone.

From reading his work, it seems to me the subject is coming from a ‘trainer’ mentality.  Which is common.  So instead of just cynically assuming he is a charlatan, looking to exploit the emotions of Americans struggling to lose weight for his own financial gain; I thought I’d give the benefit of the doubt, and mention some positives of this ‘experiment.’

 

1)  It promotes awareness of the issues.

–  There are those who still don’t get or empathize with what it takes for an overweight individual to lose weight.  They think it is only a matter of eat less, move more.  And again I agree for some that is true.  But for others it goes further than that.  Which the trainer is recognizing.  a few excerpts:

  • … it’s just not fun anymore. Dreading to walk up the stairs knowing that you’ll be out of breath is not fun. Not being able to play with your 2-year old due to chaffing and lack of stamina is not fun. Being in constant discomfort and being self conscious no matter what you wear is not fun.
  • My wife says I have the male equivalent of PMS, but instead of it being once a month it’s just a continual, never-ending cycle. I suppose I’m a little sensitive about my appearance. To comfort myself I’m going to sit on the couch with my Ben & Jerry’s …

 

2)Realization of the effects of a high sugar diet.

This probably got overlooked by most but did any one notice how this trainer was going to gain fat.  He’s eating, “sugary cereals, granola bars, juices, white breads, white pastas, sodas, crackers, chips, frozen dinners, mac n cheese, etc.”  Hmmm, but I thought juice & granola bars were good for you?  😉

Kidding aside, I wish more people discussed this aspect along with the weight gain. As many times as I have debated with others about how eating high protein is bad for you.  I would have enjoyed the implications of high carb eating being brought up.

 

3)Insight into the addictive properties of sugar

It doesn’t take long into an experiment like this (Supersize Me, fat&back) till we see the commentary about how down and depressed the subject feels until they have their next dose of sugar.  For those who do not wish to subject themselves to this, they can draw understanding form scientific study (1).

For those who don’t feel like reading more than this, in a nutshell, a food product doesn’t even have to taste sweet in order for you to feel the addictive properties of sugar.  The more you get the more you want.  Scary, huh?

 

 

So there you have it.  Those are the possible insights from an experiment like this one.  However these insights will only come with true self reflection and discussion of these issues with qualified minds.  Based on his ‘product recommendations’, I highly doubt that will happen.  But hopefully for those of you who look in on this site.  You’ll be able to approach this subject looking at both sides.

 

Keep Fitness Groovy,

Coach W

 

1 – Nutrient Selection in the Absence of Taste Receptor Signaling, Journal of Neuroscience, 9 June 2010, 30(23): 8012-8023;

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

