Sound body, sound.. planet?

Posted on February 6, 2012. Filed under: Misc, Nutrition | Tags: , , , , , , |

Ever think about how Earth friendly the fitness industry is?

 

I do.

 

I find myself thinking about it more and more lately.  And as I think about it, I notice it tends to be very absent from the typical fitness conversations.

 

Where should we go to recycle our tubs of protein or our energy shots?  What are the manufacturing guidelines for our industry?  Do they invest in getting their energy and equipment materials from renewable sources?  Should we be looking at more eco friendly cardio equipment?

 

How big a difference is it to get Organic Whey Protein.  I believe in a difference in Raw Organic Milk, but when we isolate it down to just the amino acid, how big a difference is there?  Let alone when you hydrolyze a protein.  Then again, who knows. Is the answer an alternative idea to protein powder

 

I find that when eco friendly fitness is brought up it usually refers to yoga.  Why not weight lifting?  A good quality barbell, cage, sled, can last decades.  And there have been advances in cardio equipment that many have not even considered.

 

Granted, I’m not a big fan of cardio machines.  I do like the idea of improved efficiency though.  In fact, when I have my gym I intend it to be as green as possible.  Not to be trendy, I just feel that I can’t in good faith encourage personal health.  Without encouraging healthy surroundings as well.

 

Some simple tips to consider to make your fitness a bit more earth friendly:

  1. Buy in bulk and use reusable containers.  Not only is this simple.  In the long run you save money.  I mean you really do.  Also when you buy in bulk bring your own carry bags.  Don’t use the plastic.   You can also buy protein powder in bulk FYI.
  2. Use reusable containers.  A simple stainless steel water bottle and a quality water filter (average cost about $90) that will last a year.  Will save you hundreds if not thousands of dollars, over what you would spend on bottled water.  I started doing this personally because I’m cheap, and could do the math.  People complain about gas, and never even think about how much money they waste on bottled water.  😛
  3. Reusable shopping bags.  At this point if you don’t have one.  I don’t know what to tell you.  They are everywhere.  Although I will say get yours from Trader Joes or Whole Foods if possible.  I’ve had my TJ bags for years!  I’m talking 7+!!  They are so effective plastic companies sue to limit access.
  4. Reusable produce bags.  Makes buying in bulk much easier.  And again limits the plastic.

 

These are just a few things you can do, to make your fitness a bit more earth friendly.  And they really don’t take a lot of effort to do.

 

Health and Fitness are universal concepts.  And should apply to our lives outside the gym as well as inside.  And as they say if you turn your back on Mother Nature, eventually she will turn her back on you.  Or… choose to get even  😉

Keep Fitness Groovy,

Coach W

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...