How I handle being sick

Posted on March 22, 2012. Filed under: Misc | Tags: , , , , , |

So I have had a bit of a relapse in my getting over my bug.

 

Now, I would never EVER point a finger at any one and blame them for such a thing. That would just be bitter. And being negative does not help your health.

 

True, I was feeling better and then someone close to me than get sick

True, said person while sick wanted to spend lots of up close and personal time while they were sick

True, said person coughed on me repeatedly without covering their mouth

And true, the new symptoms I am displaying are eerily similar to the symptoms said person had while they were sick. That’s right were, they are feeling better.

 

But I would never EVER point a finger about my new condition, because that’s how you stay in a happy healthy relationship.  🙂

Moving on, as I began my routine of getting better I started thinking about how other people might approach being sick.

 

Now keeping a healthy lifestyle does reduce your chances, but odds are you are going to get sick and there are 2 ways to go about it.

1. Pharmaceutical

2. Herbal

 

Now just so you understand up front I have no problem with either way. Concerns about big pharma aside if I get hit with a bug and I have a presentation to do the next day, drugs are my friends.

 

Mainly because I typically don’t get hit with the light stuff, when I get hit it’s a noticeable effect and I need to deal with it.

 

However if I don’t have anything on the immediate horizon where I need to be mentally going on all cylinders, I will go the herbal route and let my body work it out. Now before I share my protocol there are a few things to keep in mind about this:

  1. This is my protocol. I am not telling you to do what I do or ignore doctors or anything like that. I simply wish to share what I do in the spirit of giving you information to consider and think about.
  2.  I am 5’10”, 200+ pounds, body fat ranging from6-8% with years of training experience. We are all unique snowflakes. Which means a normal dose for me may not be normal for you, in fact it might be downright excessive.
  3.  I have a high tolerance for pain killers. As in a shot of morphine doesn’t do jack for me high. This is a metabolism thing. Mine runs a bit higher after all those years of training and gaining natural muscle. Something again to consider on my chosen dosage

 

Ok here’s my typical day

Start the day with some lemon water.

Lemon juice, or the phytochemical d-limonene found in lemon juice. Acts as a liver tonic, aids digestion and helps the liver produce more bile. Essentially it helps your body function. Which is a good thing.

I like to cut up an organic lemon and a small piece of ginger. Place it in a teapot, or a small pot. Boil it, let it sit and drink.

Fair warning if one of your symptoms is gum or throat sensitivity this may burn a bit. Adding organic honey helps.

 

Take my Adaptogen

An adaptogen, as the name might suggest, are compounds that literally help the body adapt to, and resist physical, chemical, and environmental stress.

There are 2 main adaptogens you want to look at, as they have the most research behind them

  • Cordyceps
  • Rhodiola Rosea

Be sure to take a product with a standardized extract percentage. This refers to the potency or active ingredient of the product. And be sure to get the most for your money, as is always certain brand names will try to slip by you.

What I mean by that is imagine 2 products, product A & product B, of the same herbal extract, let’s call it Verde. Now we know it’s important to get good potency and on the front label they both advertise 5% standardized extract. Product A is 60 capsules for $9, Product B is 100 capsules for $13. Seems like a no brainer right? Product B.

Let’s look at the entire label though.

On the back Product A has Verde standardized powder, and regular powder as its listed dosage. The per-capsule standardized dosage is 100 mg, and then 100 mg of Verde powder. On the back of Product B it lists 44mg of standardized Verde, 100mg of powder. See what they did there?

They both list 5% potency, but when you do the math. You get 5mg of active ingredient in Product A, and only 2.2mg in Product B. So in truth product a is the best for your money.

Personally I take Rhodiola, 100mg standardized 15%, 4 capsules a day. Honestly no one should ever take more than that(1,2).

Also be careful taking adaptogens too close to bed time. They can keep you up.

 

Next my herbal “antibiotic.”

I take Olive leaf. And I wish I could say I started taking it due to loads of personal research and insight. Honestly though I met Leroy Colbert, a bodybuilder from back in the day who runs a supplement store.

He suggested it, so I tried it liked it, then began looking into the research on it. Honestly there isn’t a lot, but what there is promising (3). I have noticed a difference in my regimen when taking it and when not taking it. So I’m keeping it in.

250mg, standardized 17%, 4 capsules a day

 

Anti-inflammatory

Seems almost every issue we have boils down to inflammation in some form or another. So I make sure I take my fish oil regularly. And maybe add in some curcumin, an herbal import from India which I have suggested to family and clients with positive effects when regularly used. (4)  Curcumin I’ll take anywhere from 2-6 grams a day depending on the situation.  I actually need to order more.

 

So that’s it. Now fair warning, if you have never done the herbal route and choose to do so. It takes time.

 

You will not be getting the immediate relief. And for a brief moment your symptoms may get a bit worse before getting better. This is the price you pay for a more effective immune system.

 

And again, if your doctor says to go a different route, listen to your doctor. I am not a doctor, and I am no ones personal coach on this site. Absorb the information and make the judgement call for yourself.

When in doubt go with the best medicine

 

Keep Fitness Groovy

Coach W

1. Brown RP, Gerbarg PL, and Z Ramazanov. Rhodiola rosea: A Phytomedicinal Overview. HerbalGram. 56:40-52, 2002

2. Maslova LV, Kondrat’ev BI, Maslov LN, Lishmanov IB. [The cardioprotective and antiadrenergic activity of an extract of Rhodiola rosea in stress]. [Article in Russian]. Eksp Klin Farmakol 1994;57:61-3.

3. Pio Maria Furner et al, Antimicrob Agents Chemother. 2004 December; 48(12): 4892–4894

4. Jurenka JS, Anti-inflammatory properties of curcumin, a major constituent of Curcuma longa: a review of preclinical and clinical research. Altern Med Rev. 2009 Jun;14(2):141-53.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

