3 elements of fitness coaching

Posted on July 13, 2012. Filed under: Misc | Tags: , , , , , |

I have a set goal of running my own gym. As I move along this path, I find it fascinating all that goes into running a business.

 

Please note I said running a business not being self-employed. Many make that mistake in our industry.

 

Just because you are an independent trainer does not mean you are running a business. If you are solely legally and financially responsible for a staff of trainers then you’re running a business. Calling this night and day is an understatement.

 

One of the main differences is teaching someone else to do what you do. In fact it could very well be the key to a successful business.

 

There are only so many hours in a day and I can only be in one place at a time, unless I figure out how to mentally apply principles of Quantum Physics. Any way in order to do this you have to write out what I do, why I do it, and explain it in a way someone else can do what I do whenever I’m not there.

 

Take a moment and think about that. Think about all you do for your current employment. Now think about sitting down and writing out every detail so that any person, even one not as smart as you, could do exactly what you do with minimum mistakes.

Yep, it’s about as fun as it sounds.

 

As I have been typing away for the joy of self-employment and eye strain, I realize how important a lot of the tips past coaches have given me become.

 

The one that runs through my brain is “3 things”

 

3 things, is a common approach among professional coaches. Narrow whatever sport or arena they work in to 3 things to focus on.

 

This makes both instruction and comprehension so much easier when dealing with athletes. I see it also being very important for business.

 

My goal is not only to be the best fitness coach I can be, but to help others do it as well. So what are my 3 things.

 

1) Objective Simple Assessment –

Every assessment must be done the exact same way, every single time without fail. We must eliminate personal feelings and bias from the assessment or we run the risk of heading down the wrong path. Whatever your field, establish your most efficient assessment protocol and stick to it. Only change something if it is for the better.

And make sure it is simple, if it takes longer than 40 minute to assess my client’s current fitness state something is horribly wrong. I’m training people for fat loss not the Olympics.

 

2) The goal is the goal is the goal

I am totally stealing this from Coach Dan John. Because it’ one of those simple things that get overlooked so often. What is the goal? The goal is Fat Loss. Are we working toward that goal with everything we do. If not, adjust. If we are, how can we help this along?

If it doesn’t pertain to the clients goals we don’t care. I don’t care what they said on a website, or what the gym down the street is doing as long as they aren’t hurting anybody. Our focus is the goal of the client

 

3) Fit the program to the client not the client to the program

I am very much in favor of the by any tool necessary approach. It’s the foundation of the success of Crunch Gyms. If it works for the person we will use it. There is no one diet to rule them all, nor is there any one magic workout routine we stay on for the rest of our lives.

Whether it’s 6 meals a day, Intermittent Fasting, carb cycling, Ketogenic, vegetarian, I will use whatever meal plan my client can do that will benefit their health, fit their lifestyle, and achieve the goal.

The same rule goes for work routines.

 

Yes, I’m sure the internet guru with no college degree or no degree in the Health field who spouts off lots of PubMed studies is very smart. Just because he has a good idea in one category however, does not make him correct across the board for all body types.

Also I have less respect for someone who does no actual physical face to face coaching. Sorry.

 

I get why they do it business wise, but in the long run they really contribute little to society in my opinion.

 

 

OK, back to the joy of employee manuals… I don’t think there is enough caffeine in the world to make this enjoyable. : P

 

Keep Fitness Groovy,

Coach W

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

